N News & Results

Power Wins Fifth Race of 2010 at Infineon Raceway

Will Power felt like Infineon Raceway owed him one after he suffered season-ending injuries in an accident at the track last year.

He capped a picture perfect return to the track by becoming the sixth different winner at Infineon Raceway in as many IZOD IndyCar Series races on the 2.303-mile, 12-turn natural-terrain course. Power held Scott Dixon of Target Chip Ganassi Racing by 0.7432 of a second in the Indy Grand Prix of Sonoma.

Power, the pole sitter in the No. 12 Verizon Team Penske car, increased his series championship points lead over third-place finisher Dario Franchitti to 59 with four oval races remaining in the season. Power was also officially crowned the first Mario Andretti Road Champion by the award's namesake, racing legend Mario Andretti, in Victory Lane after the event.

Franchitti finished third, with Team Penske teammates Ryan Briscoe and Helio Castroneves next across the line. Justin Wilson was sixth and Tony Kanaan finished seventh. Ryan Hunter-Reay, Graham Rahal and Alex Lloyd (season-best road/street finish) completed the top 10.

Also on Aug. 22, J.K. Vernay recorded his fifth victory of the season (all on road/street courses) to increase his Firestone Indy Lights championship points lead to 71.

Vernay, the pole sitter in the No. 7 Lucas Oil/CJ/Sam Schmidt Motorsports car, held off Charlie Kimball in the No. 26 Levemir FlexPen car for AFS Racing Andretti Autosport over the final 10 laps to win the Carneros 100 by 3.4245 seconds.

James Hinchcliffe finished third in the No. 2 TMR-Xtreme Coil Drilling car. The final three races of the season are on 1.5-mile ovals.

Popular News

top logo 2018

PRN Motorsport Magazine.

For Canadian Race Fans and Racers

Since 1989





Social Links