N News & Results

Franchitti Wins IZOD IndyCar Series Title; Dixon Takes Cafes Do Brasil Indy 300

It was a perfect night for Target Chip Ganassi Racing.

Scott Dixon won the Cafes do Brasil Indy 300, while Dario Franchitti claimed his record-tying third IZOD IndyCar Series crown with an eighth-place finish at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

Having already securing the bonus point for winning the PEAK Performance Pole Award, Franchitti needed to lead the most laps and outpace Will Power in the 200-lap event. One was achieved on Lap 118 of 200 when he clinched two points for leading the most laps, and he was on pace to win the race. That would seal the deal no matter where Power finished.

Dario Franchitti celebrates his second consecutive IZOD IndyCar Series championship with wife Ashley Judd.

That became moot when Power's No. 12 Verizon Team Penske car brushed the Turn 4 wall on Lap 135 while running fourth, which bent the right-rear wishbone. The crew wheeled the car behind the wall and made the parts change in 5 minutes, 6 seconds. After testing the patch for a few laps under caution, he brought the car into the pit stall and climbed out of the cockpit.

Power, who posted five victories in his first full season with Team Penske, suffered his first DNF of the season in the biggest race of his career. Franchitti, who entered the race 11 points arrears, earned the title by five points with an eighth-place finish.

Dixon, who started on the front row, held off Andretti Autosport teammates Danica Patrick, who tied her season-high of second, and Tony Kanaan to win his third race of the season. Team Penske's Ryan Briscoe finished fourth and teammate Helio Castroneves was fifth. Alex Lloyd of Dale Coyne Racing clinched the Rookie of the Year award.

Also on Oct. 2, Brandon Wagner outdueled James Hinchcliffe to win the Fuzzy's Ultra Premium Vodka 100 at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

The USAC Midget Series veteran beat James Hinchcliffe of Team Moore Racing by 0.7006 of a second for his first victory and first for Davey Hamilton Racing.

Wade Cunningham, who won the Firestone Freedom 100 at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway in May in his only other start this season, finished third in the No. 77 IZOD Sam Schmidt Motorsports car. Adrian Campos Jr. was fourth and pole sitter Pippa Mann fifth.

J.K. Vernay finished 15th to clinch the Firestone Indy Lights championship. The Frenchman wrapped up the title when he took the green flag for the 67-lap race.

Popular News

top logo 2018

PRN Motorsport Magazine.

For Canadian Race Fans and Racers

Since 1989





Social Links