N News & Results

Race Weekend Preview: Aug 11-12, 2018

This week we are watching four NASCAR races:

Saturday, Aug 11

  • NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Corrigan Oil 200, Michigan Intl. Speedway. Brooklyn, Mi
  • NASCAR Xfinity Rock N Roll Tequila 170 , Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course, Lexington, OH


Sunday, Aug 12

  • NASCAR MENCS Consumers Energy 400, Michigan Intl. Speedway. Brooklyn, MI
  • NASCAR Pinty’s Series Le 50 Tours Can-Am, Circuit Trois-Rivières, QC

NASCAR MENCS at Michigan Intl. Speedway

The 2-mile MIS oval is one of the fastest race tracks on the NASCAR schedule. It now hosts two NASCAR MENCS races a year but no IndyCar races any more. This big oval with its high bankings produces fast racing with few cautions. Some criticise this track for producing races with few lead changes but the race does go to the fastest driver and many races in recent years have had close battles in the closing laps.

Last year, in this August MIS race Kyle Larson was the winner. He also won the June Michigan race as well and in total he won four MENCS races in 2017. Last year’s win was his third win in a row at MIS; he had won here in the August race in 2016 as well.

In the June race here earlier this year, Kurt Busch’s pole qualifying speed was over 203 mph. Clint Boyer was the winner over Kevin Harvick while Larson finished in 28th place. Last week’s winner at Watkins Glen, Chase Elliott, finished second here in the 2017 June race and eighth in last year’s August race.

NASCAR Xfinity at Mid-0hio

This race is the second of four road-course races in the Xfinity series this year – Watkins Glen, Mid-Ohio, Road America and the ROVAL at Charlotte. The somewhat large Xfinity cars have proven to be fairly agile on this twisty road course and produce good racing. Remember, as we saw last week at Watkins Glen, these cars can race in the wet on rain tires if it rains during the race. None of the Cup drivers will be running in this race because it conflicts with the MENCS race being run on the same day at MIS.

Last year, Sam Hornish won the race here in the No. 22 Penske Ford. This year that car will be driven by Austin Cindric who has yet to win an Xfinity race although he has a few road-course wins to his credit including a win in the NCWTS race at CTMP last year.

The most recent winner in the Xfinity Series was Joey Logano in the same No. 22 Ford at Watkins Glen.  Fellow Cup driver A.J. Allmendinger was second while Justin Allgaier, the top-finishing Xfinity regular, was third. Ryan Preece, who is driving in selected Xfinity races this year was fourth.

NASCAR Camping World Truck Series at MIS

The very first NCWTS race at MIS was the goracing.com 200 in 1999 – and there has been one truck race here every year since but for 2001. The Cup driver Darrell Wallace won here last year over Christopher Bell who went on to win the series championship and graduate to Xfinity for this year. Kyle Busch was third in 2017. This year that are no Cup stars in this race.

Perhaps the absence of the Cup carpetbaggers in this race will give people like Noah Gragson to score a Kyle Busch won the most recent race at Pocono two weeks ago while Dalton Sargeant, in third, was the best-placed truck series regular coming in just ahead of Stewart Friesen.  Perhaps the absence of Cup stars in this race will give someone like Noah Gragson score a second win or for Stewart Friesen to get his first truck win and solidify his chances of qualifying for the playoffs which are coming up after just two more regular season races, Michigan and Bristol.

NASCAR Pinty’s Series at Trois-Rivières, QC

The Pinty’s race at Trois-Rivières is one of the most significant races in the Pinty’s calendar given the long history of racing here and the large number of Quebec drivers in the series. Racing has been held here annually since 1967. The Pinty’s Series races have been the headliners here since 2007. In its current configuration it is a 1.53-mile track laid out through the fairgrounds and some surrounding streets.

Last year’s winner here was Alex Tagliani, while Kevin Lacroix won here in 2015 and 2016. This year, L.P. Dumoulin won at Edmonton, the most recent race. He is currently leading in the points standings over Cole Powell, who is new to the Pinty’s Series this year, by four points (286 points to 282).


Popular News

top logo 2018

PRN Motorsport Magazine.

For Canadian Race Fans and Racers

Since 1989





Social Links