N News & Results

Trivia Time: Name the Winningest Driver Entered at Mosport

The answer: JaguarRSR’s Kenny WIlden with 11 victories!

Ken Wilden Photo by Michael Allan RossOf the drivers who are entered for this weekend’s Mobil 1 presents the Grand Prix of Mosport, none has tasted success more than Kenny Wilden. Did we stump you?

But it’s true. The Oakville, Ontario driver has 11 professional wins at Mosport International Raceway – one each in Trans-Am (2010) and SCCA World Challenge (1991), two in the Canadian Firehawk Series (1989), three in the Canadian GM Series (1991-92) and an astonishing four in the Canadian Enduroseries (1993-94 and 1996).

“I'm really looking forward to running at my home track with Jaguar,” Wilden said. “Mosport is a very demanding track and we should have a good advantage there especially in terms of understanding how the track changes as the race goes on. I'm happy to have the opportunity to run again with RSR and Jaguar and look forward to a great weekend.”

A victory Sunday would be his first in the American Le Mans Series presented by Tequila Patrón. He’ll drive one of JaguarRSR’s Jaguar XKR GTs with Bruno Junqueira.

In case you were wondering, Scott Sharp has six pro wins at Mosport, two of them in the ALMS. He’ll drive with Johannes van Overbeek in a Ferrari F458 Italia for Extreme Speed Motorsports.

Mobil 1 presents the Grand Prix of Mosport, the fourth round of the 2011 ALMS championship, is scheduled for 3:05 p.m. ET on Sunday, July 24 with ESPN2 airing the race starting at 10 p.m. ET. Live video coverage will be available at 2:50 p.m. ET on ESPN3.com in the US, and americanlemans.com for international viewers. Canadian fans may also watch live coverage on Rogers Sportsnet One. Worldwide radio coverage will be available on American Le Mans Radio at americanlemans.com.

Visit the American Le Mans Series’ schedule page for information on tickets and area accommodations.

You can follow the Series on Twitter (almsnotes), our Facebook page and the official YouTube channel.

Popular News

top logo 2018

PRN Motorsport Magazine.

For Canadian Race Fans and Racers

Since 1989





Social Links