N News & Results

Welsh Wins Superbike Finale

Welsh - CSBK Winner - 3 - JRW mid resUxbridge, ON native Alex Welsh (pictured) captured his first career Canadian Pro Superbike victory in what was one of the most exciting Superbike finishes in Series history.   Jordan Szoke of Brantford, who won his record eighth national title the day before along with Saturday race winner Kevin Lacombe of St-Cesaire, QC (later disqualified in post-race inspection) went back-and-forth for all 20 laps before Welsh squeezed below in the last turn to take the checkered flag.  

Jodi Christie of Keene, ON, who had captured his second consecutive K&N Filters Pro Sport Bike crown the day before, dominated the rest of the field aboard his Honda CBR600RR.  The 19-year-old finished 9.477 ahead of Quebec native Raphael Archambault.  Frank Trombino of Woodbridge was third.

After successfully defending his Deeley Harley-Davidson Canada XR1200 Cup title the day before, fan favourite Steve Crevier won a thrilling race over American Michael Barnes and Vancouver’s Darren James.

In the Honda CBR250R Series, Stacey Nesbitt, the 15-year-old from St. Lazare, QC won the #1 plate as she finished second in Sunday’s race to Peterborough’s Tomas Casas.  Nesbitt was the first female champion in Canadian history when she took the title in the Honda CBR125R Challenge in 2011.

BOWMANVILLE, Ont. (August 26) – Results of Sunday’s sixth round of the Mopar Canadian Superbike Championship at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park, showing finishing position, rider name, hometown, type of motorcycle and laps completed:

1. Alex Welsh, Uxbridge, Ont., Suzuki GSX-R1000, 20
2. Jordan Szoke, Brantford, Ont., BMW S1000RR, 20
3. Bodhi Edie, Warman, Sask., BMW S1000RR, 20
4. Andrew Nelson, Kars, Ont., BMW S1000RR, 20
5. Matthew McBride, Mississauga, Ont., BMW S1000RR, 20
6. Sebastien Tremblay, Longueuil, Que., BMW S1000RR, 20
7. Francois Dumas, St-Raymond, Que., BMW S1000RR, 20
8. Marcel Irnie, Kelowna, B.C., BMW S1000RR, 20
9. Sylvain Dery, St-Colomban, Que., Kawasaki ZX-10R, 20
10. Mike Bevan, Amherstburg, Ont., Kawasaki ZX-10R, 19
Did Not Finish
Jodi Christie, Keene, Ont., Honda CBR1000RR, 2
Kevin Lacombe, St-Cesaire, Que., BMW S1000RR
Did Not Start
Martin Hamel, Drummondville, Que., BMW S1000RR
Scott Rupert, Gadshill, Ont., Suzuki GSX-R1000
Michael Leon, Beaconsfield, Que., Honda CBR600RR
Raphael Archambault, Terrebonne, Que., Suzuki GSX-R600

Popular News

top logo 2018

PRN Motorsport Magazine.

For Canadian Race Fans and Racers

Since 1989





Social Links